Close Menu


Alumni Association Updates

The UW–Madison Ophthalmology Alumni Association (OAA) continues to better serve past residents and fellows across the country. Established in 1990, the OAA encourages connections between the UW Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, its faculty and program alumni, including participation in international rotations, mentoring current learners and volunteering to support activities like the annual phacoemulsification course. One of the top priorities for the coming year is engaging alumni to return to Madison to celebrate the department’s upcoming 50th anniversary. This year the board added three new members, and appointed a new president, Timothy J. Daley, MD. Dr. Daley practices at Medical Associates in Dubuque, Iowa, and completed medical school (2007), residency (2011), and a pediatric and strabismus fellowship (2012) training at the University of Wisconsin–Madison.

Joining the alumni board of directors as at-large members are:

Alon Kahana, MD, PhD, is an associate professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences at the University of Michigan. He completed his residency in 2005 and his fellowship in Oculofacial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery in 2007 at UW–Madison.

Ashley Lundin, MD, practices at Sanford Health in Bemidji, Minnesota. She completed her residency at UW–Madison in 2015.

Alexander Ringeisen, MD, practices in the Twin Cities, Minnesota area with Vitreoretinal Surgery, PA. He completed his residency at UW–Madison in 2017.

Dr. Andy Harris Honored as 2019 AAO Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient

This year’s Distinguished Alumni Award recipient, Andy Harris, MD (Residency 1974), recalls his time at the University of Wisconsin Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences (DOVS) fondly. Harris’ community and professional involvement resume is vast, and includes serving on boards and committees focused on human rights, homelessness, and environmental issues. He served as the national president of Physicians for Social Responsibility, an organization which received the 1985 Nobel Peace Prize.

Dr. Harris’ excellent work for the local to global good exemplifies the Wisconsin Idea. DOVS is proud to honor him with the 2019 Distinguished Alumni Award presented at the department’s Alumni and Friends Reception during the American Academy of Ophthalmology annual meeting on October 12, 2019.